This is the final online concert from the Polish Chamber Choir’s Extraordinary Concerts.

Henryk Mikołaj Górecki - Veni Sancte Spiritus op. 61
Wolfgang Amadeusz Mozart - Litaniae de verabili altaris sacramento KV 243

Julia Leżniewa – soprano
Ewa Marciniec  – alto
Krystian Krzeszowiak – tenor
Wojtek Gierlach – bass
Polski Chór Kameralny
Wenecka Orkiestra Barokowa
Jan Łukaszewski – conductor

Pentecost is a holiday that has deep roots in Polish culture. Next to Christmas and Easter, it is one of the few feasts that are celebrated over two days. We have prepared two pieces for this special occasion.

The first is Henryk Mikołaj Górecki’s hymn Come, Holy Spirit from 1988. This very special jewel of sacred choir music is yet another example of the composer’s exceptional ability to embellish simple, often traditional, melodies with uncommon harmony, full of sundry emotions and prayerful meditation.

The second piece is the Litania de venerabili altaris Sacramento (Litany of the Most Blessed Sacrament), K. 243. Tending to his duties at the Archbishop’s court, Mozart composed four litanies. The one selected for today’s concert, the final and most spectacular, comes from 1776. Its individual movements differ in their keys, performers, style and instrumentation. In the choral sections, the lush sound carries the listener away, while the solos captivate them with their spectacular coloratura and charming lyricism.

This is the final online concert we would like to invite you to. Slowly but surely, we are getting back to beautiful reality with the hope that we will soon get the opportunity to meet you live!